Feeling comfortable

Even since I was a little boy, I’ve loved traveling. However, living in a small country like holland, I’ve seen most of the interesting places by now. So, a few years ago, I’ve started to broaden my horizon. In the summer of ’07 an opportunity presented itself to visit the USA. Needless to say, I took it. Having never been on a plane before, I admit that going on a 11 hour flight was a bit ambitious, but I figured, since I’m going to panic anyway, might as well be in the states when that happens πŸ™‚

One of the best things about being there, was that – other than some classmates – everyone spoke English. Being in an english-only environment felt oddly comforting. Ever since I got back, I’ve been trying to recreate that feeling.

The Internet has been a huge help with that. The wonderful people of the blog-o-sphere, #VEDA, and the nerdfighter community have been extremely welcoming an don’t look at me funny when I choose to communicate in English, which means more to me than any of you will probably ever realize. It

As I type this message, I’m on a train traveling to Antwerp to hang out with a bunch of made-of-awesome Nerd-fighters. If you would have told me a couple of years ago I would be doing this, I would’ve laughed at you and called you crazy, but right now, I’m loving it.

So, internet and the wonderful people contained within, thank you for making me feel comfortable. It really does mean the world to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Feeling comfortable

  1. Heather B says:

    That is awesome!

  2. abby says:

    I too didn’t think that I’d be heavily involved with people on the internet or just the internet in general. There’s something about putting myself on the internet that’s oddly comforting. VEDA is one of them. Even if I’m new to it I’m slowly kind of enjoying the idea of it and I’m definitely amped to meet a bunch of people on there. πŸ™‚

  3. Linda says:

    So happy to be a part of something that makes you feel more comfortable.

Leave a Reply

