Ten on Tuesday: Thanksgiving

I’m doing Ten on Tuesday today 😀 Thanks to Chelsea at Roots And Rings for hosting !

I really like the topic, so here goes:

1. What are you doing for Thanksgiving this year?
I’m thinking about visiting a friend. But it’s a regular work-day so i’m not sure if that will happen.

2. What are you most thankful for this year?
Internet-friends. They helped me get through depression and other difficulties and make me laugh daily.

3. Do you have any traditions on Thanksgiving? The parade? Football? Long naps?
Work. Thanksgiving isn’t really a thing here, so there’s no special events or anything. But i still think it’s good to take a moment and think about all the good things in your life.

4. Is it called stuffing or dressing? Is it in the bird or a separate dish?
It’s called stuffing. And it needs to go IN the bird. If you serve it as a seperate dish, it’s no longer called stuffing, it’s called a side dish.

5. Do you cook?
Not a lot. Because i’m a culinary disaster. To prove that: 2 days ago i set fire to a pan while cooking a burger. I’m really that terrible.

6. What is your favorite dish?
I love the turkey. I don’t like making it (i don’t have the patience) but i like eating it.

7. What is your dessert preference?
Just some fruit. I don’t want to ruin the taste of the turkey 🙂

8. What is your favorite Thanksgiving memory?
Don’t really have any yet. This is the first year i’m actively remembering to do something special for Thanksgiving.

9. Do you plan to shop on Black Friday?
Nope. But that’s mostly thanks to the lack of funds. And because i want to go to Vidcon in LA next year i need to save up as much as i can.

10. What are you most dreading about Thanksgiving this year?
Nobody else in my town or group of IRL friends celebrating it. I wish more people in the Netherlands would be aware of thanksgiving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ten on Tuesday: Thanksgiving

  1. Hello there new friend,

    I always find thinking about Thanksgiving at this time of year a little odd, because to me, Thanksgiving happens in October.

    I lived overseas for a few years and tried to continue the Thanksgiving tradition, but it just did not work.

    Your admission of being a culinary disaster made me laugh. 🙂 I tend to avoid cooking whenever possible.

    • Edw1nS1984 says:

      Hello there 🙂 thank you for commenting on my post 🙂

      i think thanksgiving overseas could work if you have people around you who like thanksgiving too. In my case that means i’ll spend my day on twitter hoping people will be online 🙂

      I had to look up why you had thanksgiving in october, but now i know 🙂 It doesn’t really matter when you celebrate it right ?

  2. Kanriah says:

    My friend Nyx is terrible about cooking too and Also sets fires with burgers. Which is why I taught her how to cook them in the stove. Much better for you fire starters. 🙂

    and by fruit for desert I really hope you mean cherry pie. Because cherry pie…. MMMMmmmmmm. I’m kinda surprised I gave it up for pecan pie this year, but I Know I’ll have cherry in December.

    I didn’t have that much of a problem when I was overseas BUT i was surrounded my Americans since we were on base and all that. I think that if you want to celebrate it you should make it a big thing and invite people yourself. Since you aren’t a great cook you can do a potluck style thanksgiving where everyone brings a dish and you can stick to something you can handle or buy it. 🙂 But then it’s not all dependent on you not ruining it and others can contribute something They’d want to eat at a thanksgiving meal. Even if they’re eh about celebrating a holiday that isn’t a local holiday, you can always host it late (on fri or sat instead of thurs) and make it more of a friendsgiving where it’s about being with friends and being thankful for the people in your lives.

Leave a Reply

